Jean ‘Binta’ Breeze

Reggae.be brings a nice interview with Jean ‘Binta’ Breeze, queen of dub poetry. “My whole life revolves around dub-poetry really”, she says. “All I do is travel around the world reciting dub-poems.” Well, having read the interview, that doesn’t seem to be the full truth. Of course she’s talking about dub poets and dub poetry. But she’s also talking England, Jamaica, Africa, schizophrenia, slackness, sensuality and more.  A fascinating woman and a fascinating read.

More Jean ‘ Binta’ Breeze on Wikipedia and in the Poetry Archive (where you can listen to some poetry recordings). Below you can watch and hear her performing live at a 2007 Cultures of Resistance festival. Enjoy!

Eén reactie

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Geef een reactie

